Amy Palmiero-Winters Wins AAU Sullivan Award

In an exclusive ceremony at the New York Athletic Club on April 14th, the Amateur Athletic Union honored A Step Ahead's Amy Palmiero-Winters (Below Knee) with its highest honor, the James E. Sullivan Award.
Presented annually for the past eighty years to the top amateur athlete in the country, the Sullivan Award is often called the "Oscar" of sports awards and has been given in the past to athletes including Michael Phelps, Michelle Kwan, Peyton Manning, Bruce Jenner, and a plethora of others.
Accepting the award at the New York Athletic Club, Palmiero-Winters became the first USATF athlete to win the Sullivan Award since Michael Johnson in 1996.
Amy was judged from among six finalists as the winner for her accomplishments in ultramarathoning as well as character, leadership, and her dedication to helping younger amputees build confidence and overcome their limitations by introducing them to sports.
Her 2009 achievements included beating all able-bodied male and female competitors in the 24-hour Arizona Road Racers 24-hour race (running 130.4 miles in the process) and being named to the USA 24-hour running team which will be competing at the world championships in Brive, France.